Skip to content

Precept Upon Precept

July 31, 2010

The Lord is Glorious and His love and peace is so fulfilling.

As I was meditating upon the word of God I was impressed to Isaiah 28 especially this verse.” For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept, Line upon line, line upon line, Here a little, there a little.”

I have heard many say true interpretation of prophecy and creation of doctrine is line upon line and precept upon precept.(Isaiah 28:13)

When I heard this it troubled my Heart/Spirit so while in prayer and meditation the Lord revealed to me that this verse is taken out of context.

While in Spirit I read the chapter in context and I was shown that God is tell His people that this is not to be done for it will cause us to stumble.

“For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept,
Line upon line, line upon line,
Here a little, there a little.”
For with stammering lips and another tongue
He will speak to this people,
To whom He said, “This is the rest with which
You may cause the weary to rest,”
And, “This is the refreshing”;
Yet they would not hear.
But the word of the LORD was to them,

“Precept upon precept, precept upon precept,
Line upon line, line upon line,
Here a little, there a little,”
That they might go and fall backward, and be broken
And snared and caught. ”
Please notice that this saying was repeated twice and when you read it in context with the beginning we are called to be careful not to do this for we will stumble.

In this Chapter God through Isaiah is reprimanding the teachers, and leaders of Jerusalem for they were drunk with power and self righteousness. This also was a warning to them that because of this thought/practice they would miss the Messiah.

I believe this reprimand and warning is still pertinent today.
Please do not get me wrong I do believe that Scripture interprets Scripture but this is a warning that we must be careful how we use Scripture to decipher Scripture. We must be lead by the Holy Spirit and given His Wisdom to interpret Scripture for our wisdom is and always will be corrupt…

I hope this makes sense for it is hard for me to put into words what is upon my heart..

May the Spirit of the Lord bless us with God’s wisdom and understanding when we search the scriptures for His Truth..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

