Skip to content

How Does One Contend With Their Anger?

September 11, 2011

Be angry, and do not sin”: do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil. Ephesians 4

We see in this verse that Anger is a emotion that we do all have and we can be angry but how does one tend to this anger so that they do not sin nor let the sun go down on our wrath as to not allow the devil to get a strong hold in our hearts?

If we are diligent  Scripture answers this question..

Psalm 4
“Be angry, and do not sin. Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still.  Selah”

So we see that we are to Meditate within our hearts in a quite place and to be still..

Now why should we be still?  So that we do not react out of our anger and we are called to be still and know He is God.  He will tend to the cause of our angry and He will be exalted because of His loving ways..

Psalm 46
Be still, and know that I am God;  I will be exalted among the nations,  I will be exalted in the earth!

So we see we must be still in a quiet place and meditate within our hearts.. What do we meditate on the wrong that was done to us? No of course not for this will lead to wrath and sin as we see with the first anger recorded in Scripture (Cain).  It changes one countenance and we will fall to the sin of Pride.  Which is  fuel for anger and Pride come before a fall…  So what are we to meditate on?   Scripture again answers this question.

Psalm 1
But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night

Psalm 63
When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches. Because You have been my help, Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.

Psalm 77
I call to remembrance my song in the night; I meditate within my heart,  And my spirit makes diligent search.
I will remember the works of the LORD; Surely I will remember Your wonders of old.  I will also meditate on all Your work, And talk of Your deeds.

Psalm 119

Make me understand the way of Your precepts; So shall I meditate on Your wonderful works.
My soul melts from heaviness; Strengthen me according to Your word.

Remove from me reproach and contempt, For I have kept Your testimonies.
Princes also sit and speak against me, But Your servant meditates on Your statutes.

My hands also I will lift up to Your commandments, Which I love,  And I will meditate on Your statutes

Let the proud be ashamed, For they treated me wrongfully with falsehood;  But I will meditate on Your precepts

My eyes are awake through the night watches, That I may meditate on Your word.

Psalm 143

Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; My heart within me is distressed.   I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your works; I muse on the work of Your hands

(As we all know Anger does distress our hearts and makes it heavy )

Philippians 4
Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things

1 Timothy 4  be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.  Till I come, give attention to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine.  Do not neglect the gift that is in you, which was given to you by prophecy with the laying on of the hands of the eldership.  Meditate on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.

So we can see throughout scripture we are called to meditate on the Our Lord, On His Wonders.. The Things that are pure.. God’s Goodness, His precepts, laws, and Glory..  These things will take the distress and the anger from our heart  bring us into focus on the One who truly matters in this world; Our Lord God Almighty filling us with peace, joy mercy and forgiveness.

So the next time you start to feel anger  boil inside you.. Stop everything before you say a word, go to a quite place and be still as you meditate on the Lord and He will release you of the anger and should anything need to addressed that cause you to be angry the Lord will place  peace upon your  heart and the words you are to say in loving boldness..  Yet we must remember  many time the Lord will ask you to remain quiet or not to say a word for it will only cause more strife and anger to arise in ones heart..

I really hope this makes sense for it hard for me to explain what is upon my heart…. God bless you and may the Spirit of the Lord fill you all with His Peace beyond Understanding.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 6:32 am

    Excellent blog site. I actually really enjoy looking through that.

  2. April 12, 2013 5:42 am

    Terrific post. I have been battling with a condition that effects my moods for over 6 years (Cyclothymia). I have received much relief from this over the years, Praise God. Yet recently an illness and the medication to deal with this illness has aggravated my emotional state. It has caused old issues to rear up. I appreciate you sharing these words of wisdom. I really needed the reminder of this revelation. Blessings to you!

    • April 12, 2013 8:15 pm

      Oh Praise the Lord, Thank you Jesus, Oh Blessed and Holy Father thank you for guiding these word and helping them heal your child Water Bearer.. Thank you for your Wisdom and Understanding.. May Your words of wisdom fill her heart as You give her the strength and endurance to carry on.. God bless you my sweet sister and may the Spirit of the Lord guide you always in to His Truth with His wisdom and understanding.. You are upon my heart and in my Prayers.. I know in my heart the Lord will do a good work within you.. God bless you always..

Leave a Reply

