Skip to content

Christmas–Celebrate or Not? That is the Question

December 18, 2012

For years now we have seen debates on whether we as Christian should Celebrate Christmas especially with many of its origins come from pagan religions.   We are aware that Jesus birth was not on the 25 of December, but many take this time to honour His Birth while others do not..

I have watched these debates pop up all over the internet,  and my heart grieved for those on both sides of the debate for the evil one has had influence to create strife in the Body of Christ..  Both sides profess truth and lies, yet instead of coming together in prayer and supplication before the Lord in one accord each side is trying to prove why or why not to celebrate Christmas..  And in doing so are twisting scripture and many historical truths being given are only half truths leaving small but important pieces out..

My Heart and spirit grieves when it see how body of Christ is being torn apart..  Now with that said I would like to share with you what the Lord has shown me through my walk with Him.

First let us start with the origin of Christmas..  When I first was told about the pagan rituals behind December 25, that it was the celebration of the sun god and the winter solstice ..  I walk totally away from Christmas and it celebrations for a several years.



Roman Winter Solstice Celebration picture http://www.thorninpaw.com/u/htdocs/thorni/image/Saturnalia.jpg

Then the Lord placed on my heart there is only half truth in what I was taught and sent me to study the history of Christmas..  Now it easy to do a search on the origins of Christmas and be shown the paganism with in..  Yet the Lord told me to dig deeper and find the whole truth for in our time history is manipulated  as half  stories are told to justify one’s point of view..

This is what I discovered as I searched with the guidance of the LORD.. First Christmas does have origins in Christianity but not as Jesus birth instead His death.. Please let me explain, this go back before the Roman empire converted to Christianity; after the first churches had grown into many small churches and the first apostles passed away..

The Followers of Christ were growing in numbers but the congregations were small. Within the individual churches they celebrated communion and broke bread together yet there was desire to share in communion with the other of The Way and share teachings through love and grace of the Holy Spirit..  By this time the church had spread to many countries and cities thus traveling between them made it was hard to hold larger monthly, weekly or daily gathering. The leaders of the churches came together and decided that they would honour the death of Christ in larger assemblies, one in each large city and/or country..  There was no official date set and for a little over 100 years they gather together in one accord honouring and celebrated the last supper, Jesus death and resurrection whenever they were able and in many cites/countries they celebrated several times a year…

Now I know many are thinking you I mixed up Easter and Christmas, but I have not, this was the beginning of Christmas.  For when the Roman empire became converted, they found this memorial of Christ very unorganized with no thought in advance of when they would gather, (my belief is that church’s gatherings were always Spirit lead). The Romans although they had very crude customs, their value of order and traditions were high priorities. Someone brought forth the idea to align their customs and traditions with the early Christian thus convincing all of Rome to convert to Christianity.. The Romans traditions was to honour the birth of someone rather than the death, they choose to celebrate Jesus birth on the same day that the non believers celebrated the birth of the sun god convinced that they would convert more to Christianity by allowing converts to keep their rituals of the season. Now because the true beginning was celebrating the last supper, with breaking of bread (communion) the Roman Church call this day Christmas which means Mass of Christ.

There is a lie circulating that Mass means death in Latin, when I heard this I sought the Lord in prayer and supplication as well as researched translations and nowhere does “Mass” mean death. In fact this conclusion started circulating about 20 years ago by the twisting of historical truth, this celebration incorporated the early Christians celebrations of the Last Supper and the death of Christ.  To continue in sharing/spreading that the meaning of Mass means death actually dishonours our Lord as it is based on lie..   Mass in Latin means Eucharist or Communion.. So the real meaning to the word Christmas is Communion of Christ.   (I check the Latin translations and searched into old Latin.. the word  death/dead is not even close to the word Mass nor is it a root of it)

Now I will agree that the marry making and over indulgence that comes with Christmas is very pagan that has a nasty habit of distraction in many lifes, by taking our focus off of Jesus.

Does that mean one should not celebrate Christmas, I believe that decision is individual and by the conviction of one’s heart.  We do know that all days should be celebrated and glorify God and because of what He showed me and how my heart is set on Him, I would like to share how I celebrate Christmas..


Photo found http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_fpqIRz7QU9U/TPcN81yLqEI/AAAAAAAABIU/v5ZdV76zdQE/s1600/Nativity-Scene.jpg

For me this is My New Year and I believe it should be for all Christians..  Since I know Jesus was not born on December 25,  this day represents the day I was reborn in Christ because it was His born, His life, His death, His resurrection and His ascension that set me free..  So this day becomes the day I re-evaluate my walk with Jesus. Even though I do this on a daily base, this time of year gives me the chance to have a longer and stronger look at the year pass and all that the Lord has done for me and others and rejoice in His Goodness..  It becomes a day of true rejoice as I remember where I was last year and where I am today. It becomes a day of contemplation of where I have failed this year as I seek the Lord for strength in my walk and convictions for the following year.

Because of my belief and what the Lord has shown me..You will find no tree or real decorations in my home except a nativity scene which is up all year around. And I will judge no one should they choose to decorate or not for I do not know their hearts, yet I am willing to share why I do not..  During this time the only other decorations are the Cards we receive as this honours and reminds me of the closeness that the Lord has given me with His Children my brothers and sisters in Christ.. Yes I send out cards, for those who are believers the Lord places upon my heart encouraging and uplifting words to share with them, may they be blessings or prayers. This is a time to come together in one accord and share in  God’s Gift to His Children, His only Begotten Son.   And for those who are not, this is a time where I can mass evangelize the Love of Christ and sow some seeds where I normally would not be able to throughout the year. For those who choose not to celebrate at all, I respect their decision and do not send them anything but continue to share God’s love with them throughout the year..

Since I believe in giving gifts as the Holy Spirit prompts me throughout the year,  we do not celebrate in gift giving as many do.. Yet I do give out a few gifts as thank you to those that have given us service though out the year, we give to the mail lady for all the walking she does and for her great delivery service, to the man that drives my husband to the Drs and waits for him to recognize his patience and time, to our newspaper boy for taking the time and consideration for placing it in our mail box so we do not have to go search for it in the bushes..  These are only a few examples, It a time when I try to recognize the good in those who serve us and thank them, opening the door to witness His love..   Most of the time they are gifts from my heart that were gifts from God. Like photos I have taken or seeds I have gathered..


Picture found http://blondeonabudget.ca/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Christmas-Tree-652×300.jpeg

“Should one celebrate or not celebrate?”, that is the question being debated.. For me I will judge no man’s celebrations for I do not know their hearts and how they celebrate.  One thing I do know is that we are to worship in one accord in Spirit and Truth.. Instead of arguing among ourselves, tearing the body of Christ apart, let us seek the Lord in one accord. Let Him lead us all in His truth and be ready to accept what He says.   For Jesus the Christ of God is about unity in Our Heavenly Father Through Him  as well as with one another. When we are all one in the Spirit, we are one in the Lord..

For those who choose to celebrate Christmas, let Christ be the full center of your celebration, not the fulfillment of secular desires and gifts but the Gift that God Gave us..  Let it not be about over eating and gluttony but about finding ways to feed those who are hungry all year around..  Let it not be about drunken merriment but be filled with the Spirit of the Lord and in the abundance of God’s joy..    Let this be truly be about the Jesus Christ and a time of reflection in our walk remembering how we can sacrifice of ourselves for the Lord by giving to others in need, may it be Spiritual or physical through-out the year.

For those who choose not to celebrate Christmas please remember the love of Christ and do not condemn those that do for you do not know their hearts nor how they celebrate.. Although this is not a day you want to celebrate, this season does open doors that are usually closed to us the rest of the year to witness who Jesus is and His love for the world.   This is a time for us to fully examine our hearts before the Lord and seek the truth in all things..  Although we are to do it on a daily bases, this is a great time to get deeper into prayer and supplication since most of us do not have to work because of the holiday.. It a great time for fasting and prayer


Picture found http://sermonsfromsilverside.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/wheat-and-weeds.jpeg

The last thing that is upon my heart to share for both sides of this debate is Jesus parable of the Tares and the wheat..

Another parable He put forth to them, saying: “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field;  but while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat and went his way.  But when the grain had sprouted and produced a crop, then the tares also appeared. So the servants of the owner came and said to him, ‘Sir, did you not sow good seed in your field? How then does it have tares?’  He said to them, ‘An enemy has done this.’ The servants said to him, ‘Do you want us then to go and gather them up?’  But he said, ‘No, lest while you gather up the tares you also uproot the wheat with them.  Let both grow together until the harvest, and at the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, “First gather together the tares and bind them in bundles to burn them, but gather the wheat into my barn.”‘”  Matthew 13

Let us all be careful about pulling the tares of lies in another’s belief for you may pull out some young wheat blades of faith..  Let us all go to the Lord and seek His truth and how to share it.. For each one of us has tares within our beliefs that if pulled out at the wrong time could stumble us in our walk..  Let the Lord gather the tares together, yet let us tell of the tares that were in our lives and how and why the Lord removed them.. Let us all give the fields back to the Lord and let Him tend to them for He knows each blade of wheat more than we do. And fully listen to His directions He knows how to nourish the blades of wheat so that they become stronger rooted in Him thus making the tares weaker and die in one’s life.  And for those tares which remain let the Lord deal with. It’s in His timing to gather, bundle and burn them, for at that time the harvest will be ready.. And all things are In God’s timing and He works all things out for the good of those who love Him..

Picture found at http://www.turnbacktogod.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/Come-Holy-Spirit.jpg

Lord please directs us all to live each day in Your Glory, Sharing Your Grace.  Remind us live each day in service to others like You did Jesus.   Help us each day examine our own hearts and not another’s, and through Your love and grace speak of our convictions.  Keep us from get caught up in judgment, pride and proving our convictions..  Reinforce in us that when we walk in Your Spirit we do not need to argue or prove ourselves or our points only share our convictions in love, compassion and understanding never wavering from them..  Lord we seek for You to remove the tares out of our lives please stop us from of continually trying to pull them of others out…. For the Kingdom of Heaven resides in our hearts as we abide in You and our hearts are Your field.  Oh Jesus Reaper/harvester of Hearts we ask You to gather the tares that are growing in our heart and burn them so that they never seeded again in our live or into another, nourishes Your fields (hearts) of faith so that our blades of wheat grow strong in You and become a bountiful harvest so that more fields (Hearts) are seeds with Truth, Love and Grace bring forth a glorious Harvest in Your Name..  Oh Heavenly Father we ask and Pray this in Jesus name, and thank you for answering this prayer.. Amen..


2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2012 3:26 am

    Thanks for this post, it is good.

    I think the corruption comes in only in forgetting Christ and pursuing the things of the world instead of Him (which is a corruption any day of the year, not just on Christmas). While I don’t personally celebrate the traditional customs of Christmas anymore, our very dear friends do like to celebrate some aspects (though neither of us do the gift giving), and we are joyful to celebrate with them this year in Holy fellowship.

    I just pray each person guards themselves against the pursuit of the world, not only this day, but each day, and then be free in the liberty of Christ to praise Him with all their heart.

  2. December 24, 2012 7:27 am

    Amen David. My prayer too. When we pursue the thing of this world we will find they are fleeting and many times out of reach yet the Gift from God through Jesus is eternal and for all that accept His loving Gift… Praise God for His love.. God Bless you my dear Brother..

Leave a Reply

